Shopping Cart
PEEPING TOM Peeping Tom LP (Color)

Peeping Tom
Peeping Tom LP (Color)

Peeping Tom
  • Color: Orange
  • Limited to: 5 Per Customer
  • This item ships to US and Canada addresses only.

Finally back in print after over a decade, the one and only PEEPING TOM album. The album is one of Mike Patton’s (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle) most sought after releases. The guests are an amazing array of musicians including Norah Jones, Massive Attack, Kool Keith and more.

The vinyl has been out of print since it’s initial release in 2006 and this reissue features limited edition colors and a die-cut sleeve different from the original release.

In keeping with the landmark 1960 psychological horror film that inspired its name, PEEPING TOM had its genesis as a modus operandi devoid of physical intimacy. Patton would write songs with a wishlist of theoretical collaborators in mind, then hope for a reply in the form of a finished track. "It's an exotic way of working for someone accustomed to a band environment," Patton says. "It was charming, really. None of the usual Animal House stuff. Instead of swapping spit and underwear, we were swapping files."

The album also includes contributions from Amon Tobin, Bebel Gilberto, DubTrio, Kid Koala, Dale Crover, Rahzel and several of Patton's Bay Area running buddies, such as Dan "the Automator" Nakamura, and Jel, Odd Nosdam and Dose One of hip hop collective anticon. The end result is an utterly unique multi-genre/multi-artist departure from Patton's more recent noisy output-one that would ultimately have to be classified as a pop record, alas a Mike Patton pop record, but a pop record nonetheless.

"I don't listen to the radio, but if I did, this is what I'd want it to sound like. This is my version of pop music. In a way, this is an exercise for me: taking all these things I've learned over the years and putting them into a pop format. I've worked with many people who have said to me, 'oh you have a pop record in you, eventually you'll find it,' and I always laughed at them. I guess I owe them an apology.”

Item Details
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Label: Ipecac
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Catalog Number: IPC258LP5

Related Products